Local Districts Receive Safe School Grants

Several Beaver and Lawrence county school districts in the 47th Senatorial District were selected to receive state Safe School Initiative grants for the training and compensation of school resource officers and to prevent and reduce violent incidents through programs and security equipment, according to Senator Elder Vogel.

The local funds were part of $6.5 million in competitive grants announced by the Pennsylvania Department of Education on Friday, November 4.

Beaver County recipients include: Ambridge Area School District, $15,950 for visitor identification system; Big Beaver Falls Area School District, $60,000 Safe School Initiative Grant; Midland Borough school District, $24,889 for cameras and lock sets; New Brighton Area School District, $10,497.

Lawrence County recipients include: Laurel School District, $25,000 for pole lights and cameras; Lawrence County CTC, $25,000 for surveillance equipment and cameras; New Castle Area School District, $24,475 for cameras; Shenango Area School District, $57,104 Safe School Initiative Grant and for cameras. 

CONTACT:             Anthony Tammaro


Back to Top