Local districts receive Safe School grants

Several school districts in Beaver and Lawrence counties were selected to receive state grants for the placement of school resource officers and school police officers in schools, according to Senator Elder Vogel.

The Beaver County recipients are Beaver Area School District, $60,000, and South Side Area School District, $40,000. The Lawrence County recipients are Laurel School District, $50,425, and New Castle Area School District, $53,900.

“This funding provides these districts in Beaver and Lawrence counties with financial support to retain the appropriate personnel to enhance the safety of students in these schools,” said Senator Vogel. “It is important that we take the appropriate and necessary steps to ensure our young people can feel safe in their classrooms and schools.”

A total of $3.9 million has been awarded statewide to 81 schools and municipalities in the current round of grants.  A total of 114 applications were received and reviewed based on guidelines of the grant program.  Priority was given to schools and municipalities that employ officers who have completed additional training related to interaction with children and adolescents within a school setting.

Eligible schools and municipalities could apply for up to $60,000 for a school resource officer and up to $40,000 for a school police officer.  Grantees are required to fund the officer’s position for at least two years.  Pending available funding for the 2014-15 school year, grantees will be eligible to receive 50 percent of their 2013-14 award without reapplying.


Joe Weidner jweidner@pasen.gov
(724) 774-0444


Back to Top